Undergraduate Affairs - University of Florida


Applications are for scholarships which will be distributed in the upcoming academic year.

Applications open February 1st, 2021


Alfred T. Airth General Scholarship Fund

Elizabeth R. Airth provided this scholarship in memory of her husband, Alfred T. Airth, to benefit conscientious students dedicated to academic excellence.

Alfred T. Airth served Suwannee County as county attorney for 20 years and then served the city of Live Oak as city attorney for 26 years. He retired in 1975. Voted Suwannee County Man of the Year in 1956, Airth developed an admirable record of community, civic and religious service to Live Oak and Suwannee County. A 1930 alumnus of UF's law school, he passed away in 1993.

Elizabeth Airth passed away in 2001.

Criteria: Preference will be given to a student who is a resident of Suwannee County and in the top 15% of her or his graduating class at Suwannee High School.  

If no such student is eligible, then preference is given to a similar student from Branford High School.  

If no student is eligible from Suwanee or Branford High Schools, then graduating students from Lafayette, Dixie, Madison, Hamilton, Taylor and Columbia counties will be considered.  

This scholarship is renewable for up to four years for students maintaining a 3.0 GPA or higher. All eligible students must be admitted to UF. 

Alfred T. Airth Scholarship Application

Deadline: May 1st

Arthur K. Woodman Scholarship Endowment

This fund was established in 2008 by the Arthur K. Woodman Trust. The endowment supports scholarships for Palm Beach County, FL high school students who attend or desire to attend the University of Florida. Criteria: Students who were graduates of high schools in Palm Beach County, FL.  Award amount is provided in two (2) installments.

Arthur K. Woodman Scholarship Application

Deadline: July 1st

For renewal submissions please click the link below:

Woodman Renewal Submission

Recipients must submit a renewal application each year to be considered for a scholarship renewal. Scholarship renewals are not guaranteed for subsequent years. Renewals must submit an essay about your academic accomplishments from the prior year.

Fitzhugh and Essie Carter Scholarship

This fund was established in 2007 by the estate of Fitzhugh and Essie Carter. Born December 29, 1907, Fitzhugh was the eldest son of Florida pioneers, Stephen and Eliza Carter. He was a lifelong resident of Washington County, FL and a former teacher at Vernon Elementary School. After his retirement in 1957, he owned and managed a fishing and hunting ranch at Greenhead, FL. Fitzhugh passed away on December 8, 2003. Essie Thames Carter was born on May 28, 1911 and passed away on January 19, 2003.

Criteria: Students pursuing a BS or BA degree with first preference given to students from Washington County, FL; This is non-need based award and may be given for 5 years if graduating from high school or 3 years if enrolling from community college; recipient must be of good moral character and maintain a 2.0 GPA.

 Fitzhugh and Essie Carter Scholarship Application

Deadline: July 1st

Lowell G. Beckens Scholarship

This fund was established in 2013, by Lowell G. Beckens. The endowment provides scholarship oppurtunities for students from Okaloosa County public high school or Sodus Central High School in Sodus, New York. Recipients must have resided in either Okaloosa County, Florida or Wayne County, New York for at least two years and must maintain a 3.0 GPA at the University in order to have the scholarship renewed each year. The scholarship shall expire if the recipient does not acquire a Bachelors degree within 5 years.
Lowell G. Beckens Scholarship
Deadline: July 1st

Paul G. and Harriette C. Franklin Merit Scholarship

Paul G. Franklin and his wife, Harriette, established this fund to support UF students. Paul Franklin was a Ft. Myers, Fla., businessman dedicated to improving the lives of less fortunate area residents. He figured prominently in the Ft. Myers Housing Authority and Chamber of Commerce. He and his father, W. P. Franklin, are credited with being the first to bring "affordable housing" to the Dunbar Community. A 1923 UF graduate of the college of engineering and a member of the Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity, Paul served for many years on the Lee Memorial Hospital Board. Franklin Hardware in Ft. Myers was owned and operated by Paul and Harriette for most of their lives. It became the largest hardware store between Miami and Tampa. Harriette served as president of the Fort Myers Women's Community Club and the Periwinkle Garden Club. Both organizations are dedicated to the cultural enhancement and beautification of Ft. Myers. Harriette passed away six months prior to Paul in 1988. Criteria: Students who attend UF full-time and who graduated from one of the public high schools in Lee County, Fla., within the top 15 percent of their class. One scholarship per year is awarded to a student from each high school. Recommendations are required from the high school's principal or guidance counselor. The scholarship may be renewed for up to four years if the recipient maintains a 3.0 or higher undergraduate GPA. Award amount is $3,000 made in two installments each academic year.

Franklin Merit Scholarship Application
Deadline: July 1st
Additional Resources
Scholarships for Hispanic and Latino Students